Anchor vs. anchor: Slade, Kohn top 2 finalists for Montana broadcasting honor

Posted at 7:07 PM, Jun 14, 2018
and last updated 2018-06-14 21:07:03-04

BILLINGS – Each year, the Montana Broadcasters Association salutes one journalist as Broadcaster of the Year. This year, we know that person will be from Q2 News. 

The anchor team of Jeanelle Slade and Jay Kohn were chosen as the two finalists for the award, which will be presented Saturday night at the state’s annual broadcasters convention.     

The event takes place in Whitefish with the E.B. Craney awards for outstanding work in television, radio and online journalism.  

The "EB Awards" are named in memory of Montana broadcast pioneer Ed Craney. The "EBs" recognize excellence in local news, production, promotion and public service. The awards are presented annually during the Montana Broadcasters Association convention. These awards are sponsored through the generosity of the The Greater Montana Foundation which Mr. Craney established to encourage communication, with an emphasis on electronic media, on issues and trends of importance to Montanans. 

Jay joined the Q2 News team in October of 1998, moving from our sister station KXLF TV in Butte, where Jay served as news director and main anchor. His news career in Montana dates back three decades.

In 2005, Jay was selected Montana’s Broadcaster of the Year by the Montana Broadcasters Association.

Jay graduated with honors from the University of Montana in 1976 with a Bachelor’s degree in Journalism. He was born and raised in Billings, graduating Billings Senior High School in 1970.

Jeanelle is an award-winning anchor and reporter who worked in the Q2 newsroom from 1995 to 2004 immediately following graduation from the University Of Montana School Of Journalism.

Jeanelle then anchored the Q2 Weekend Newscast for six years.  She rejoined Q2 News in August 2011.

Jeanelle was named E.B Craney Montana Broadcaster of the Year in 2000, 2013 and 2015.