Montana State University Billings honors outstanding alumni

Posted at 8:58 PM, Apr 05, 2018
and last updated 2018-04-05 22:58:42-04

BILLINGS – The man whose name is on the federal courthouse in Billings, James F. Battin, is among the MSU Billings alumni honored over the last 37 years.

On Thursday afternoon at the MSUB Alumni House, eight more joined that group of recipients of the Outstanding Alumni Awards, as announced by the MSUB Alumni Association.

The group includes seven alumni and one non-alumnus, a "Friend of MSUB": Big Sky Economic Developement Executive Director Steve Arveshoug.

Some talked about how much they value Eastern Montana College, the school’s former name, and MSUB.

"So many amazing professionals here that shaped my life,"  said TerraBeth Jochems of the class of 1984.

"There’s a lot of success that happens at this university, and it contributes in a mighty way to our economic growth," Arveshoug said.

"I loved hearing the stories of the alumni award recipients as they were talking about mentors and teachers who really impacted their lives,” said Gillette Vaira, MSUB director of alumni relations. “They have their stories and memories from campus that really followed them throughout their lives… and really impacted the success that they have in their professional lives."

The 2018 Outstanding Alumni Award winners include:

  • Brenda Dockery, Class of 2001
  • Dr. Craig Pierson, Class of 2001
  • Merry Lee Olson, Class of 1970
  • TerraBeth Jochems, Class of 1984
  • Rita Wells, Class of 1987
  • Shane Fairbanks, Class of 2007
  • Nathan Haney, Class of 1996
  • Steve Arveschoug, Friend of MSU Billings

The MSUB Alumni Association will honor the outstanding alumni with a luncheon at the Northern Hotel at noon April 20.