Utah Senate confirms medical marijuana board members

Posted at 1:44 PM, Jun 25, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-25 15:44:25-04

Click here for updates on this story

    SALT LAKE CITY, UT (KSTU) — The Utah State Senate has unanimously confirmed members of the Compassionate Use Board for medical cannabis.

They are the ones who will hear appeals by patients who aren’t on the list of conditions that qualify them to use medical cannabis. Patients who don’t have any of the conditions under the law will go before the board, who will decide if they can be recommended marijuana. They will also consider pediatric patients.

The board members include:

Dr. Joel Ehrenkranz
Dr. Ed Redd
Dr. Angelo Giardino
Dr. Nicholas Whipple
Dr. Megan Ward
Dr. Richard Segal
Dr. Colleen Marty
Utah voters approved Proposition 2, which legalized medical cannabis. It was replaced by the legislature, which created a state-run medical marijuana program set to launch next year. The Compassionate Use Board is a part of that program.

The Utah Patients Coalition, which sponsored Proposition 2, praised the board selection.

“The Department of Health has done a wonderful job choosing the new members of the Compassionate Use Board. Utah Patients Coalition has been allowed to actively watch the process and we are convinced that they have gone above and beyond to find the most qualified and compassionate doctors in Utah,” said the group’s executive director, Desiree Hennessy. “This board is crucial in getting patients that fall outside the qualifying conditions list and pediatric patients access to medical cannabis. We are excited to have them as allies helping Utah patients acquire the medication they desperately need.”

Please note: This content carries a strict local market embargo. If you share the same market as the contributor of this article, you may not use it on any platform.