NewsLocal News


Voters to decide on city, school races in Billings and Laurel

Posted at 9:15 PM, Nov 01, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-01 23:15:57-04

Just four days until ballots are due for city elections in Yellowstone County.

Five seats on the Billings City Council are on the ballot with two candidates in each race:

Ward 1
John S. Armstrong
Kendra Shaw

Ward 2
Randy Heniz
Roy Neese (incumbent)

Ward 3
Danny Choriki
Aldo A. Rose

Ward 4
Carmelita Dominguez
Pam Purinton

Ward 5
Mike Boyett
Dennis L. Ulvestad

In Laurel, voters will decide on mayor and two city council seats:

Thomas Nelson (incumbent)
Ted Mize (write i candidate)

Ward 1
Evan Bruce
Emilie Kay Eaton

Ward 4
Don Nelson (write in candidate)
David G. Walters (write in candidate)

Ward 2 Councilman Richard A. Herr and Ward 3 Councilman Scot Stokes are unopposed.

Laurel citizens will also vote on whether to authorize Laurel School District to acquire land north of the big ditch for a new elementary school, which was approved by the school board this summer. This measure would not raise additional property taxes because the district will use $405,000 from a levy approved by voters in May.

To be sure your mail-in ballot is counted, Yellowstone County Elections Administrator Bret Rutherford recommends bringing your ballot to the elections office.

There are some changes since the last mail-in election because a Legislative Referendum (LR-129) was passed in 2018.

It determined that authorized persons who may turn in someone else's ballot include: caregiver, family, household or acquaintance.

Those authorized persons may drop of a maximum of six ballots per election, with a $500 dollar fine for each ballot exceeding six.

Those turning in ballots must register at the elections office or polling place.

The deadline for turning in ballots is Tuesday Nov. 5 at 8 pm.