NewsLocal News


MSU Billings announces 2019 Science Expo Winners

Posted at 4:03 PM, Apr 13, 2019
and last updated 2019-07-17 14:49:32-04
Courtesy – MSU-Billings

BILLINGS – Hundreds of students from across the state of Montana competed in the 31st  annual Montana State University Billings and Billings Clinic Science Expo, held March 23 in Alterowitz Gym on the MSUB campus.

Students from the first grade through twelfth, from a 24-county region in Eastern Montana submitted their presentations, in hopes of receiving one of the many coveted awards including scholarships, plaques, and cash prizes. 104 students took home 122 awards in various categories.

Dylan Wichman, a student from Billings Central Catholic High School, was the first place winner in the 9-12 grade group with his project, “A Predictive Neural Network Based on Fire Sized Classifier.” Wichman also won the state-wide science fair held in Missoula, so he will represent the state of Montana at the 2019 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) competition in May. He will also receive a $1,000 scholarship from MSU Billings.

Caleb Mark, a student at Greenwood Home School in Hardin, was runner up in the 9-12 grade group with his project, “Determining Existence of Beta Carotene in Pericarp of Kernel in a Heritage Breed of Zea Mays.” Because Wichman has already secured a spot at ISEF, Mark will also attend the national competition as the MSU Billings/Billings Clinic Regional Science Expo representative. He will also receive a $1,000 scholarship from MSU Billings.

First place awards were given to the following students:

First-grade division – Hattie Thompson of Arrowhead Elementary,

Second-grade division – Hannah Krise of Krise Academy,

Third-grade division – Jameson O’Shea of Luther School

Fourth-grade division – McKenna Engebretson of Central Heights Elementary

Fifth-grade division – Danica Gamble of Gamble Home School received first place as well as Best Earth or Environmental Sciences Project Grades 4-6

Sixth-grade division – Cindy Power of Hillcrest School in Harlowton was awarded first place as well as Best Local Ecology Project Grades 6-8

Seventh-grade division – Toby Mark of Greenwood Home School

Eighth-grade division – Avery Gates of Absarokee Public Schools.

The teacher scholarship for Yellowstone County School Best Participation was awarded to Corrie Bowman of Central Heights Elementary.

A complete list of winners and categories can be found here.

MSU-B Press Release