Time to "spring forward" this weekend - KTVQ.com | Q2 | Continuous News Coverage | Billings, MT

Time to "spring forward" this weekend

Posted: Mar 06, 2018 12:50 PM Updated:

Daylight Saving Time will return early Sunday and clocks will "spring forward" one hour. 

The change officially occurs at 2 a.m.

Daylight Saving Time will be in effect until Sunday, Nov. 4 at which point clocks will "fall back" one hour.

Some people enjoy the twice-yearly ritual of tinkering with time, feeling that "springing forward" or "falling back" helps to usher in a more seasonal atmosphere.

Other people, however, don't like the idea of trying to trick our bodies and our daily routines by adjusting the clocks.

Montana state Sen. Ryan Osmundson (R-Buffalo) introduced a bill in the state Legislature last year to exempt Montana from the time change.

Senate Bill 206, with the short title of "Provide for Montana standard time," stated:

Section 1.  Montana standard time. 

(1) The standard time in Montana is the mountain standard time zone as defined in 15 U.S.C. 261.

(2) The state of Montana is exempt from daylight savings time, as allowed by federal law.

(3) This section may not affect federal laws governing:

(a) the movements of common carriers engaged in interstate commerce or foreign commerce; or

(b) the timing of an act by an officer or department of the United States, as established by statute, order, rule, or regulation.

The bill died in committee.

The NASA website explains the origin of Daylight Saving Time:

In 1966, President Lyndon Johnson signed an act into law whereby Daylight Saving Time begins on the last Sunday of April and ends on the last Sunday of October each year. However, any State can opt out of Daylight Saving Time by passing a State law.

Hawaii does not observe Daylight Saving Time and neither does Arizona (although the Navajo Nation, in northeastern Arizona, does). For many years, most of Indiana did not observe Daylight Saving Time with the exception of 10 counties. Beginning in 2006, all of Indiana now observes Daylight Saving Time.

Until 2007, the return to Standard Time occurred on the last Sunday of October, but in 2005, Congress changed the date to the first Sunday of November.

Powered by Frankly

© KTVQ.com 2018, KTVQ.com
All rights reserved
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?