Nov 25, 2012 5:30 PM by MTN News

Montana open burning season ends this week

HELENA - The fall open burning season in Montana on November 30, and no open burning is allowed in the Western Montana Burn Zone until March 1, 2013, unless special permission is obtained.

The Western Montana Burn Zone includes Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Powell, Lewis and Clark, Ravalli, Granite, Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Jefferson, Broadwater, Beaverhead, Madison and Gallatin counties, as well as in the part of Park County that is south of Interstate 90.

State officials advise that people who want to do open burning in the Eastern Montana Open Burning Zone during the winter months must notify state officials at (406) 444.3490.

Residents of Lewis and Clark, Yellowstone, Flathead, Missoula, Lincoln, and Cascade counties and all Indian reservations should contact their local air quality agency to understand local level air quality related open burning rules.

Click here to learn more about the rules governing open burning.


Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular